St. Lucie, Martin, Indian River counties now eligible for FEMA assistance


St. Lucie, Martin and Indian River counties has been designated for FEMA Individual Assistance, Gov. Rick Scott announced in a press release.

The Sept. 10, 2017 Major Disaster Declaration included all 67 Florida counties in the list of eligible counties for public assistance.

However, only nine counties were initially included for federal assistance to individuals and households.

Click here to see the amendments to the declaration.

The items that can be covered include:

  • Temporary housing
  • Lodging expenses reimbursement
  • Home repair
  • Home replacement
  • Disaster-caused child care expenses.
  • Disaster-caused medical and dental expenses.
  • Disaster-caused damages to essential household items
  • Fuel for the primary heat source
  • Clean-up items
  • Disaster-caused damage to an essential vehicle.
  • Moving and storage expenses caused by the disaster

Those who need disaster assistance from FEMA can apply online or register on the phone at 1-800-621-3362.

Applicants will receive a call from FEMA within approximately 10 days of submitting your application to schedule an appointment for a home inspector to visit.

FEMA will provide those who qualify for a check by mail or a direct deposit into their bank account along with a letter describing how to use the money. Those who don't qualify will have the opportunity to appeal the decision.